Psalm 13

How Long, O Lord?

To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David.

13 How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul
and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

Consider and answer me, O Lord my God;
light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the Lord,
because he has dealt bountifully with me.

We live in a sin-filled world. Even our human bodies, which were the crown of God’s creation, are corrupted. Babies are born with abnormalities, diseases, and disorders. People contract illnesses and diseases. We fall, we hurt, we struggle, we die. We could easily look at the suffering around us and come back hopeless and in despair. We may not even need to be dealing with personal sufferings to despair at the world. Or maybe it is our personal sufferings that keep us locked into a feeling of helplessness.

Jesus healed the sick. But he never promised that he would heal all of our earthly ills in this life. Jesus overcame the world, sin and corruption, with His death on the cross and His resurrection from the tomb. But how can I be sure that this is truly for me? When you are baptized Jesus unites you to Himself. He claims you as His own dearly loved child. When we feel ignored by God and overtaken by the sufferings and cares of this world we can look to Christ’s work on the cross, and his baptismal bond to us, and know that, though we suffer, we are His. Though we despair, He is our hope. Though we have no control over even ourselves, He has control over earth and heaven and promises to return and make all things new. There will be no more tears, no more sadness, no more sin, no more corruption, no more suffering, no more illness, no more hopelessness for those who trust in Jesus and His promises.

In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.
-John 16:33

Leave a Reply

