LSB Hymn 716

I pass through trials all the way,
With sin and ills contending;
In patience I must bear each day
The cross of God’s own sending.
When in adversity
I know not where to flee,
When storms of woe my soul dismay,
I pass through trials all the way.

I walk with angels all the way,
They shield me and befriend me;
All Satan’s pow’r is held at bay
When heav’nly hosts attend me;
They are my sure defense,
All fear and sorrow, hence!
Unharmed by foes, do what they may,
I walk with angels all the way.

I walk with Jesus all the way,
His guidance never fails me;
Within His wounds I find a stay
When Satan’s pow’r assails me;
And by His footsteps led,
My path I safely tread.
No evil leads my soul astray;
I walk with Jesus all the way.

My walk is heav’nward all the way;
Await, my soul, the morrow,
When God’s good healing shall allay
All suff’ring, sin, and sorrow.
Then, worldly pomp, begone!
To heav’n I now press on.
For all the world I would not stay;
My walk is heav’nward all the way.

Verses 2, 4-6

I was going to only post one verse of this hymn, I Walk in Danger All the Way, but when I read through it all I couldn’t limit myself. This hymn states very well the life of a Christian. We live in a world full of trials, trouble, illness, and pain. However, we are not alone. Though Satan may try to convince us that we have no hope and that he will win, those are the same lies he has been telling since Adam and Eve were deceived in the Garden of Eden and they sinned.

We are not alone. Jesus and His angels are with us. Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to help us recall Scriptures we have learned and hymns we have sung. And we know that though this world is full of sorrow and fears, that we may not be healed of all of our earthly trials, that when Jesus returns there will be no more tears. The old will pass away and He will make all things new. We will be in the presence of God forever and we will never sorrow or fear again.

One thought on “LSB Hymn 716

  1. Beautiful thoughts, Becky. We may not be healed of all of our earthly trials, but Jesus will wipe every tear from our eyes when we are with Him in heaven.

Leave a Reply

