Chocolate Chip Sweet Potato Muffins

Since my husband became the pastor at our current church back in May 2012, we have received tomatoes, cucumbers, strawberries, homemade bread, corn on the cob, and sweet potatoes from various church members. While we live in the suburbs of St. Louis, MO, the area we live in used to be a farming community, so many of our church members grew up farming and still have home gardens.

When we first received sweet potatoes at the end of last Summer I had no idea what to do with them. I’d only really tried sweet potatoes once before, and they were too sweet for me in a savory dish. The typical sweet potato pie with marshmallows on top did not appeal to me, either. I wanted to do something with them, however, because I didn’t want them to go to waste. A few of them were passed on to my mother, one or two went to one of my sisters who had a baby at the time, and then I searched for recipes for what to do with the rest. I settled on using the sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin in a pumpkin pie recipe, which was delicious, and you couldn’t really tell the difference. I also found a Sweet Potato Muffin recipe on Rachael Ray’s website. Since chocolate chips make everything better (when a dessert recipe calls for nuts I always substitute in chocolate chips), I slightly modified her recipe by throwing some yummy chocolate in.

Today I boiled and mashed up some sweet potatoes to make into delicious muffins. My children enjoyed them, I enjoyed them, and I’m looking forward to eating some later.

Here’s the recipe for your enjoyment, straight from Rachael Ray’s website:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon grated cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup sweet potatoes, cooked and mashed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preparation

Position a rack in the center of the oven. Pre-heat the oven to 400°F.

Grease a standard 12-muffin pan or line with paper liners. (I often use a mini muffin tin instead for the kiddies.) Mix everything together until just combined, but don’t overmix or the muffins will turn out tough.  Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until a fork inserted into the middle comes out clean. The muffins should have a spring to them when you touch the center. Dump them onto the counter to cool.

I typically make mini-muffins, because my children eat them better than regular sized. Those should bake for 7-9 minutes. Also, feel free to add however much chocolate chips you would like. I know I will!

Leave a Reply

