Review: Root of All Evil?: A Pastor Stephen Grant Novel

Root of All Evil?: A Pastor Stephen Grant Novel
Root of All Evil?: A Pastor Stephen Grant Novel by Ray Keating

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Root of All Evil?” by Ray Keating is the second novel in his series with the character Pastor Stephen Grant. I love a book that can make me smile, frown – and maybe even wince, get teary, and laugh. The characters are realistic, lovable, relatable, and memorable.
In this installment, Pastor Stephen Grant is thrust into the middle of another sinister plot, but this time he has a new wife to worry about him. I can really relate to Jennifer Grant’s character because I am a pastor’s wife. I know how it feels to have plans interrupted by important work matters, but I can’t imagine how I would feel if I knew my husband was going off with a CIA team to apprehend a suspect in a potential gun fight.
I really enjoyed reading “Root of All Evil?” just like I really enjoyed reading “Warrior Monk.” As a Lutheran, I appreciate the worldview and Gospel proclamation in the novels. If you like crime novels, Christian fiction with more realistic to life characters (warning: some bad language, violence, and general human sinfulness), or simply good storytelling, then Ray Keating’s Pastor Stephen Grant novels are for you.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

